My Minimalism Story

Since part of this blog is about minimalism, I suppose its a good idea to let you know how I came across the philosophy and why it appealed to me.

My parents have always had a lot of stuff. Things just accumulated over their lives together and even when they moved across the country they took it with them. My basement was always (and still is) a maze of boxes, shelves, clothes, tools, a large collection of VHS tapes, and various other bits of clutter. So I’ve grown up surrounded by stuff, and to some extent I grew accustomed to it. But as I grew older I realized how damaging it was. It caused friction between my parents. We couldn’t take guests down to our finished basement. Finding things we needed became a chore as we had to dig through clutter until we finally found what we were looking for or gave up out of frustration. I made a promise to myself that I wouldn’t ever let my house get that bad.

But when I first discovered minimalism through blogs such as The Minimalists, I came to realize that my room, my own small space in the house, was just as bad. It was just a microcosm of the rest of the house.

So I made a decision to embrace minimalism and get rid of things I didn’t need. It started with clothes. I donated 2-3 garbage bags full of clothes I didn’t want or that didn’t fit anymore. Then I got rid of magazines, books, papers, and more. And the more I got rid of the easier life became. I didn’t have to worry any longer about finding a place for things or cleaning things. I came to realize that I didn’t really care about material possessions nearly as much as I used to. I’m content with what I have now. Needless to say that makes me hard to shop for at Christmas.

I still have a ways to go. I haven’t gotten rid of everything I’d like to. Its a slow process and letting go of things can be hard. This fall when I’m back at college I plan to harness the work ethic and motivation from my schoolwork to clear my life of even more clutter. Wish me luck!!

Have a story or insight you would like to share? Please leave a comment below!

 

Leave a Reply!

