Why I Write

Writing to me is one of the best accomplishments of man. From the first cuneiform markings on stone and wax tablets, to the development of the word processor writing has been one of the characteristics of advanced civilizations. People have been recording their thoughts, words, deeds, and transactions in writing not only for their benefit, but the benefit of those who will come later. A huge part of the study of history is the examination of the writings of people who lived long ago. But what benefit does writing have for the people living today?

Writing is still one of the primary methods of communication to a large audience. Whether it be a newspaper, an article online, a blog, or even a text message, writing reaches out to people across the world. Books like the Harry Potter series, The Origin of Species, and the Bible have all spread across the globe because their story or idea was contained in the vessel of the written word.

Writing is also a more refined and permanent way to express ideas. When you write you usually have to take the time to choose your words carefully, do some research on a topic, and craft the most effective sentences you can. In a speech you can mess up or forget a point, or people might not remember all that you said. Not so with writing. When you write, you can take all the time you need to make your opinion known and anyone can go back and read it again.

The reason I enjoy writing so much is a simple one. I like expressing my ideas. In a social setting if I did this I would be known as a “know-it-all.” But when I write I can express myself with the full power of the English language, taking time to organize my thoughts, saying precisely what I want to say. I don’t even care who reads it. Sure it’s nice to know that people read my work and can appreciate it, but that is not the primary reason I choose to write.

I write to clear my head.

I write to express myself.

I write to be free.

Please let me know in the comments section below if you are a fellow writer and why you do it!

5 thoughts on “Why I Write

  1. I enjoyed your post. Sometimes when I am ready to create a post kernels of ideas are rumbling around in my head all day. Then, when I sit down at my computer, everything seems to come together. My scattered ideas find their home and sequence.

    1. Yes I too often don’t know exactly what I am going to write about when I sit down to do a blog post or journal entry. Its fun though, kind of like living on the edge! Not knowing what exactly is going to come out of your brain down your arms and out through your hands. Some of the stuff I’m most proud of has been written that way.

  2. Reading your post was just the revelation I needed. I haven’t made any serious attempts at writing but your post put into words some thoughts that have been bouncing around in my head for some time. I will try to keep these things in mind when I find myself getting stuck.

  3. Pingback: The Perpetual Reader « aperfect0

Leave a Reply!

